Tube strike mania

I have New Zealand friends visiting London right now, while we’re also in the middle of a tube strike, worst timing. It took me an extra 40 minutes to travel four stops this morning to get to work.

Image

They’re all excited and blinded by the London lights; “let’s go to Soho for drinks tonight!”.

I’m all “Dude! I know you’re new here, but this is not how you handle a tube strike”.

The proper protocol is to go straight home from work, lock your doors, pour half a bottle of wine and wait out the chaos. I’ve survived two of these now, and I am not keen on changing my survival techniques any time soon.

Londoners will know what I mean.

It means meetings are cancelled (not really complaining) and that we’ve even had to postpone our work ‘do tomorrow night to in a month’s time (very much unhappy).

I don’t pretend to know all the ins and outs of the tube strikes – I gave up caring the second time they put us at a standstill¬†– by the third time it’s just a matter of coping, and carrying on as much as possible. Not seeing my friends, or drinking with work colleagues isn’t cool – but my liver is beyond happy at the break.

Tube strike mania

Leave a Reply

